ANNUAL COUNCIL

Present:-

Councillors Begley, Bialyk, Branston, Denham, Edwards, Foale, Foggin, Gottschalk, Hannaford, Hannan, Harvey, D Henson, Mrs Henson, Holland, Lamb, Leadbetter, Lyons, Mitchell, Morse, Owen, Packham, Pattison, Pearson, Pierce, Prowse, Robson, Sheldon, Sills, Sutton, Thompson, Vizard M, Vizard N, Wardle, Warwick, Wood and Wright

Apologies

Councillors Keen, Musgrave and Newby.

1

ELECTION OF THE LORD MAYOR

RESOLVED on the nomination of Councillor Prowse, seconded by Councillor Branston, that Councillor Rob Hannaford be elected Lord Mayor of the City for the ensuing Municipal Year. Councillor Leadbetter endorsed the motion and read out a message from Councillor Newby.

The Lord Mayor was invested with his Robe and Chain of Office, made his Declaration of Acceptance of Office, took the Chair and returned thanks.

2

APPOINTMENT OF THE DEPUTY LORD MAYOR

RESOLVED on the nomination of Councillor Sheldon, seconded by Councillor Mitchell, that Councillor Rachel Lyons be appointed Deputy Lord Mayor of the City for the ensuing Municipal Year.

The Deputy Lord Mayor was invested with her Robe and Chain of Office, made her Declaration of Acceptance of Office and returned thanks.

3

VOTE OF THANKS

RESOLVED that the Council record its appreciation for the able and courteous manner in which Councillor Lesley Robson and Councillor Rachel Lyons have discharged the duties of the Lord Mayor and Lord Mayor's Consort during the past year.

Councillor Sutton, on behalf of the Council, presented a badge to the retiring Lord Mayor.

The retiring Lord Mayor returned thanks.

RESOLVED that the Council record its appreciation for the able and courteous manner in which Councillor Kate Hannan and Mr Andy Hannan have discharged the duties of Deputy Lord Mayor and Deputy Lord Mayor's Consort during the past year.

The retiring Deputy Lord Mayor returned thanks.

4 <u>CONFIRMATION OF THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL AND CONFIRMATION OF</u> <u>THE DEPUTY LEADER OF THE COUNCIL</u>

Councillor Edwards was confirmed as Leader of the Council. Councillor Edwards confirmed the appointment of Councillor Sutton as Deputy Leader.

RESOLVED that Councillor Edwards be elected as Leader of the Council and Councillor Sutton as Deputy Leader.

5

APPOINTMENT OF THE EXECUTIVE AND PORTFOLIO HOLDERS

The Leader of the Council confirmed his nominations for Portfolio Holders and Executive membership as circulated.

RESOLVED that the Council's Executive be appointed as follows for the ensuing Municipal Year:-

Councillor	Portfolio or Group
Edwards, P.W.	Leader, Growth and City Development
Pearson, O.	Support Services
Packham, H.L	Housing Revenue Account
Harvey, D.J.	Place and Commercialisation
Morse, E.A.	People
Sutton, R.H.	Economy, Culture and Chair of
	Planning Committee
Denham, R.C.	City Transformation
Bialyk, P.M.	Health and Wellbeing, Communities
	and Sport
Leadbetter, A.R.	Conservative

6

APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES

RESOLVED that the membership of Committees etc, Chairs and Deputy Chairs and Independent Persons, as shown at the Appendix to these minutes, be approved.

(The meeting commenced at 7.00 pm and closed at 8.10 pm)

Chair

Minute Item 6

EXETER CITY COUNCIL

EXECUTIVE. SCRUTINY AND OTHER COMMITTEES: 2018/19

EXECUTIVE

Edwards, P.W. (Leader) Bialyk, P.M. Denham, R.C. Harvey, D.J. Leadbetter A.R. Morse, E.A. Packham, H.L. Pearson, O. Sutton, R.H.

PORTFOLIO HOLDERS (8)

Edwards, P.W.	Leader, Growth & City Development
Pearson, O.	Support Services
Packham, H.L.	Housing Revenue Account
Harvey, D J.	Place & Commercialisation
Morse, E.A.	People
Sutton, R.H.	Economy, Culture & Chair of Planning
	Committee
Denham, R.C.	City Transformation
Bialyk, P.M.	Health and Wellbeing, Communities and
	Sport

MEMBER CHAMPIONS

Sills, L.S. Sheldon, G.N. Wood, D. Champion for Young People Champion for EX1 (internal transformation) Champion for Communities

SCRUTINY - CORPORATE SERVICES (10)

Sheldon, G.N. (Chair) Warwick, S. (Deputy Chair) Hannan, K.A. Holland, P.G. Lamb, R.C. Musgrave, C. Thompson, C. Vizard, M. Wood, D. Wright, L.

SCRUTINY - PEOPLE (10)

Wardle, A.J. (Chair) Foale, B. (Deputy Chair) Foggin, O.A. Holland, P.G. Owen, K. Pattison, J. Pierce, C. Robson, L. Vizard, N. Wright, L.

D:\moderngov\Data\AgendaItemDocs\2\9\\AI00042992\\\$achodcri.doc Page 3

SCRUTINY - PLACE (10)

Sills, L.S. (Chair) Wood, D. (Deputy Chair) Begley, J. Henson, D.J. Keen, L.P.G. Lyons, R.C. Mitchell, K.J. Pattison, J. Prowse, G.J. Robson, L.

PLANNING COMMITTEE (13)

Sutton, R.H. (Chair) Lyons, R.C. (Deputy Chair) Bialyk, P.M. Branston, R.A. Denham, R.C. Edwards, P.W. Foale, B. Harvey, D.J. Henson, Mrs Y.A.C. Morse, E. A. Prowse, G.J. Thompson, C. Vizard, M.

PLANNING MEMBER WORKING GROUP (7)

Chair of Planning Committee Lyons, R.C.(Chair) Bialyk, P.M. Denham, R.C. Edwards, P.W. Henson, Mrs Y.A.C. Prowse, G.J.

MAJOR GRANTS PANEL (4)

Edwards, P.W. (Chair) Bialyk, P.M. Leadbetter, A.R. Sutton, R.H.

LEISURE COMPLEX AND BUS STATION PROGRAMME BOARD (7)

Currently 5 Labour and 2 Conservatives - politically balanced in accordance with the necessary proportionality requirements

Bialyk, P.M. (Chair) Denham, R.C. Edwards, P.W. Henson, Mrs Y.A.C. Pearson, O. Prowse, G.J. Wardle, A.J.

EXETER STRATEGIC BOARD (14)

(5 City Councillors)

Bialyk, P.M. Denham, R.C. Edwards, P.W. Sills, L.S. Thompson, C. (9 County Councillors)

Ackland, H. Asvachin, M. Atkinson, Y. Aves, S. Brennan, E. Hannaford, R.M. Leadbetter, A.R. Prowse, G.R. Whitton, M.C.

EXETER STRATEGIC BOARD FUNDING SUB GROUP (7)

(3 City Councillors)

Bialyk, P.M. Denham, R.C. Edwards, P.W.

(4 County Councillors - to be agreed at the Board)

Aves, S. Hannaford, R.M. Leadbetter, A.R. Prowse, G.R.

LICENSING COMMITTEE (14)

Owen, K. (Chair) Sheldon, G.N. (Deputy Chair) Begley, J. Branston, R.A. Foale, B. Hannan, K.A. Henson, D.J. Holland, P.G. Keen, L.P.G. Mitchell, K.J. Newby, R.C. Sills, L.S. Warwick, S. Wright, L.

LICENSING SUB-COMMITTEE (3)

Licensing Sub-Committee membership to be drawn from Licensing Committee Members above.

AUDIT AND GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE (11)

Vizard, N.J. (Chair) Wood, D. (Deputy Chair) Begley, J. Foggin, O. Henson Mrs, Y.A.C. Lamb, R. Musgrave C. Pattison, J. Sheldon, G.N. Thompson, C. Warwick, S.

INDEPENDENT PERSONS

Mr I Brooking and Professor B. Kirby appointed as Independent Persons to assist the Council in promoting and maintaining high standards of conduct amongst its Elected Members.

STRATA JOINT EXECUTIVE COMMITEE (3 - 1 FROM ECC)

Edwards, P.W. (Leader)

STRATA JOINT SCRUTINY COMMITEE (9 - 3 FROM ECC)

Lyons, R.C. Foale, B. Pierce, C.

EXETER HIGHWAYS AND TRAFFIC ORDERS COMMITTEE (13)

(4 City Councillors)

Denham, R.C. Newby, R.C. Pearson, O. Wardle, A.J.

(9 County Councillors)

Ackland, H. Asvachin, M. Atkinson, Y. Aves, S. Brennan, E. Hannaford, R.M. Leadbetter, A.R. Prowse, G.R. Whitton, M.C.